NCL Returns To Asia With Norwegian Jewel

Oct 23, 2023

Norwegian Cruise Line marked a momentous occasion with the return of its voyages to Asia. The Norwegian Jewel, the first vessel from the NCL fleet to make its way back to Asia in over three years, embarked on its journey from Tokyo on October 20, kicking off a six-month season of exploration in the region.

The Norwegian Jewel's itinerary boasts 16 immersive, port-rich journeys that will take passengers through 11 different countries. Departures are set from a diverse array of nine ports, including Bangkok (Laem Chabang) in Thailand, Kuala Lumpur (Port Klang) in Malaysia, Singapore, Taipei (Keelung) in Taiwan, Bali (Benoa) in Indonesia, Tokyo, and Yokohama in Japan. Notably, it also marks the first time in NCL's history that a ship will visit Seoul (Incheon) in South Korea.

Guests aboard the Norwegian Jewel can choose from cruise durations ranging from 10 to 14 days, with an average of less than two sea days per voyage. 

David Herrera, the President of Norwegian Cruise Line, expressed his excitement, stating, "Yesterday was a celebratory moment, as we returned to Asia with Norwegian Jewel's arrival in Tokyo. We pride ourselves on delivering the best vacation experience and providing endless opportunities for our guests to explore the world, including Asia. This region holds some of the most intriguing history, cuisine, and culture for travelers to discover, and we are thrilled to offer a diverse selection of port-rich voyages. This market is important to us, and we are committed to servicing it long-term."

The commitment of the NCL to the Asian market is resoundingly clear. They are determined to cater to both Asian source markets and destinations. In the 2024/25 season, NCL is set to deploy a record-breaking four ships in the region. Alongside the Norwegian Jewel, the Norwegian Spirit, Sun, and Sky will also grace the diverse ports of Asia, offering guests the opportunity to explore a wide array of iconic and lesser-known destinations, including Japan, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam, the Philippines, and Malaysia.